My Hospitalization due to Covid and myth about Hospital Staff

Hello friends,

I was Covid positive hospitalized in Synergy Hospital Indore Vijay nagar. With god grace and blessing, best wishes of friends and family now, I am discharged from hospital in better condition.

I would like to share my hospital experience with all of you to show another part of coin you might be thinking hospital is great, staff is great, so it is the eye opener post for all of us.

When I was hospitalized on that night, I was very tensed lots of thing happening in my mind, I was shifted in general ward last corner bed.  There are 4 patients already there in the room. Around 1:00 am I thought to go to washroom with the impression Synergy is well know name in our area I entered in washroom as in entered in front of the door one paper was posted of WHO guideline “How to Wash your Hands?”

But the best part is in the washroom there is no soap, no liquid soap nothing to wash your hand. Another interesting thing is the toilet is so dirty and there is no hygiene maintain. Luckily, I had soap somehow managed. I thought, might be tomorrow morning the hospital staff will clean the toilet, refill the soap dispenser, keep odonil or phenol tablets next day but the worst thing is neither hospital nor the staff care about this I requested multiple times but till the time I was discharged no one came to clean the toilet.

So, the crux of the above point is we can have poster of WHO for cleaning the hand, but the hospital does not bother about hygiene, cleaning of the toilet.

Next, day morning I just started chit chat with other patients. Mr Radhe shyam Parmar aprox 55 age came from ICU, He was not able to sit till the time I was discharged had urine bag with him. He is not from Indore his wife and kids are there for his care in the hospital.

Next to me Mrs Vrinda aprox 60+ age also came from the ICU. Aashutosh singh age aprox 29 belong to Praygraj also hospitalized couple of days back in the same room.

In 1-2 days we started chatting and a friendly atmosphere created. One day Mrs. Vrinda was weeping I just asked what happened Amma. She replied from last 2 days I am requesting Nurse that I need to be fresh but no one helping. As she came from ICU and her urine bag is also attached, she was not able to walk till toilet but no one helping her from last 2 days due to which she was not eating the food properly.

After few hours a lady came who is doing cleaning there Mrs Vrinda offer her money then she helped her for toilet.

Isn’t it sad you are helpless and until unless you are not offering the money hospital staff will not help you?

Luckily, Mr. Parmar wife was there who clean his urine pouch, helped him to get fresh but still she was listening the lecture from Nurse that spread room freshener.

Another, great thing in when shift change in the evening the 2nd shift staff’s day start around 11:30 pm. If you are sleeping they awake you ask you have you taken tablets and then start IV bottle which may take 45- 60 minutes (sometime more) so you can’t sleep till that time.

One night, I slept in the middle around 2:30 AM I woke up and found the blood is flowing in the IV pipe. I immediately went out to reception for seeking help and the Nurse said it is normal. You have to take care next time if bottle is going to finish switch off the syringe.   

It means you have to take care of this we don’t have time to revisit and check the bottle status.

My brother came daily in the hospital for giving me tea, breakfast lunch dinner etc. One day, I was taking my lunch I asked Ashutosh (as he opted for canteen lunch came from out side indore) how much they charged for the food. He said 500 rs per day. I was shocked I asked really ?

I asked him what you get daily in 500 rs. He replied

2 times tea (15 rs X2 = 30 rs)

1 breakfast (Poha/Idli/upma)(40 x1 = 40)

1Lunch plat & 1 dinner plat (3 chapatis, daila,dal,subji) (100X2=200 rs)

I thought, Indore is foodie’s city the max amount would be 270-300 rs but the patient is giving 500 rs why?

Next day I asked Mr. Sharma (Canteen person) why you charge 500 rs but he has no answer)

On the same day Mrs. Vrinda was going to discharged she was very happy but unfortunately, she has to wait till mid night 1:00 AM. The reason is very funny. Her family was giving cheque of remaining amount, but the hospital was not accepting it.

I curiously asked his son to show the bill and I laughed a lot. Because the same type of treatment is receiving everyone in the room so the same amount would be added in everyone’s bill

Let me show you some interesting facts

  1. Nebulization (Morning /Evening ) 200rs for each time (Morning/evening) .It means if you stay  for 10 days then your nebulization charges are 4000/rs while nebulization machine if you want to buy it will cost you 1100/-rs
  2. Glucometer (Morning/evening/noon) 150 rs for each time means if you stay for 10 days in hospital 4500 rs

Another interesting thing is your medicines you don’t know how much medicines came used nothing, but I got bill of 23K of medicines only.

While last 2 days I didn’t take any IV bottle , murabid nothing.

Next interesting thing is PPE kit charge per day 1500/- for doctor while the doctor never came with PPE kit. Another interesting story is the PPE kit 1500/-rs charged for each patient. I don’t know how frequently the doctor change his PPE kit in general ward like superman.

Although, In the mob of greedy staff there are couple of good people also exists who are very serious about their job and humanity. I would like to thank all those super heros.

The reason of sharing this to make you aware that if your family member is admitted in the hospital then you must check time to time in the hospital. Money is secondary but the life is primary, helping patient is primary responsibility.

I don’t know what these people will do with this money which they are getting.

Specially, in this pandemic where life and humanity is important some people are just making money and not doing their job with honesty.

I pray and wish you all protected from this covid and healthy.

God bless everyone.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.